Bike Size vs Rider Size

I'm completely new to trials and I'm looking for my 1st bike. As a fairly big guy - 250lbs, 6'1" - I'm thinking I would need a larger bike. However a friend of mine said that as a novice, I'd find a small bike much easier to ride and handle and suggested that I start with something like a 125. Is this crazy or is my buddy right? Would a good 125 really be able to haul me thru a section? Or should I shoot for something like a 250 - 300?

6 ft and 250 lbs is too big for a 125 . I would go 300 and as a new rider get a slow throttle tube and possibly lower the compression with another gasket to make it more newb friendly

I agree with kaos ... but a 250 should also be fine. 

I am 6ft and ~200lbs and my first trials bike was a sherco290.

I'm 6'2" at 200 lbs and ride a Montesa 250. I agree with lowering the compression a bit and maybe a slow throttle.

Saluki,

Our problem without seeing a "poster" ride, hard to tell your skill factor and make recommendations, other than for some reason in the UK, they wont let you buy a bike bigger than 125 until you are over 18.  My son, at age 17 or so, was 6ft tall 200 lbs is, foot ball athelete build, the 125 would NOT ride well for him, with AMATURE which is above beginner SKILLS.

For a timid non cycle rider at all, 125 is safe for many reasons, deadly for other reasons.  Safe as it will less likely over power newbs, but IMHO deadly because at 250 lbs without some knowledge and skills, the 125 can and will "plunk and die" in situations that can hurt you, I watched a friend have this happen on a side hill, his first time from a 250 montessa to a 200 (175cc) gasgas, bigger than 125...  it died on side of steep hill section he was going across the face of this hill, high sided him into MUCHO rocks piles 20ft down the hill.