Sign in to follow this  

looking to get into trials... but dont want a begiiner bike.

So im in th market for a trials bike but i know almost nothing about them. i currently race hare scrambles and dabble with endurocross and im no beginner on dirtbikes. im a quick learner, so i want to get a trials bike that i wont get bored on and have to upgrade in 6 months.

so what size bike should i get? what are the pros/cons of 2stroke vs. 4stroke?  im kinda leaning towards a 4 stroke. do they make injected 4stroke trials bikes?  what years did they start making any significant changes (power,weight,suspension) or have they pretty much been the same for the last 10 years???   how much am im looking at spending for a good/competitive bike?    oh, and do i have to wear the silly helmet or can i just wear my dirtbike helmet?? ;)

Thanks

• Like 1

You can wear your dirt bike helmet. We have a guy or two in our club that wear Mtn. Bike full face helmets. They vent a little better than standard dirt bike helmets like the ones by Fly Racing, Oneal, or whoever. Those ones need movement to get air flowing through them, and the open face trials helmets let you have the feeling of air moving through them, even at the slower speed of Trials. I wear my Dirt bike helmet a lot of the time when I'm practicing, if it's not too hot.... If it's warm, the Airoh helmet gets called in for work.....

On the bike..... You'll get a huge variety of opinions. I'd say go for a 2-stroke, simply because there are more of those out there, hence the chance to possibly buy a "better" bike. I've not ridden a Montesa with the 4-stroke, nor a new Beta thumper. I'm certain they're nice bikes, but not certain how often used ones come up. There's been a 2008 Sherco thumper for sale up near Olympia Washington for better than a year, and I'm thinking either the price is too high, or maybe Sherco 4-strokes aren't the best trials bikes ever, or???, Like I said, this guy has had it for sale for a long time.