Sign in to follow this  

Drilling stock slide

Years ago when I modded my air box and jetted my carb one of the things I remember doing was drilling two holes in the slide just slightly larger. That allows the acv diaphram to return quicker. But for the life of me I can not find the reason or why I did that. I thought a drill bit was included in my JD Jetting kit. I just read the JD instructions and can find no reference to it. I also used an old post on the web that originally refered me to a few of the mods to the DR-Z. Does anyone out there remember where that suggested mod of drilling the slide came from??? I know for certain the drill bit came with something I just can't remember where???? Also the increase in hole was not that much larger. Bueller? Bueller ???

Disclaimer:  I'm no expert.  I do recall reading something about this same question several years ago and as I recall Eddie says it is not necessary on the DRZ. 

If there was a drill bit in the kit it was most likely for use in removing the pressed in cap covering the air\fuel screw.

• Like 1

Not done as a matter of course on a DRZ equipped carb..

But is part of the process for other vacuum operated CV carbs when doing a aftermarket jet kit.. Like say the Dyno Jet kit for a VTR1000F 

Disclaimer:  I'm no expert.  I do recall reading something about this same question several years ago and as I recall Eddie says it is not necessary on the DRZ. 

If there was a drill bit in the kit it was most likely for use in removing the pressed in cap covering the air\fuel screw.