Sign in to follow this  

Oregon Newbie

Hello Guys,

I'm new to this Dirt Bike world and just wanted to say hello. I just bought a '99 YZ250 as my first dirt bike and I live in Portland (Clackamas area). I've been riding street for the past 15 years, and had all kinds of bikes, but currently have an '06 R1.

Anyways, I have no clue about dirt bikes, except to start it and ride :), so any pointers to start off with would be greatly appreciated. I'd like to chat w/ some locals and get to know these bikes before I kill my self :) and Yes I've been reading the forums trying to learn a thing or two:)

Take care!

photo.JPG

I think you'll be hooked...  A good place to start around here is Brown's Camp.  The trails are fun, and some have a bit of a challenge for a new guy, but nothing that is over the top.  You can find a map online to check it out, then pick up a hard copy at the shell right after the lake on your left as your driving up.

Once you get that place figured out, you should start working your way further down the highway to the next few staging area, which all get harder from there. 

Hood River also has some good riding, and I think you can find a map online as well.  

That Shell said they haven't had maps all Summer. 

My advice would be to start out easy.  I've know quite a few street riders who's skill didn't convert over to dirt.

Had any practice crashing?  I mean, have you ever skateboarded, snowboarded, skied, or the such?  Knowing how to fall will help a lot.

Have fun :thumbsup: .

Thanks guys for your help...I didn't really practice crashing, but I do snowboard and ski, and few other crashing sports, so hopefully those will come handy. I will try the Brown's camp since I heard about this one and see what happens. Thanks again for your feedback :)

I am taking another fairly noob rider up to Rodgers camp this coming Saturday so if you wanna go let me know. We should be unloading around 9 to 9:30 am.