Any Ideas on whats wrong with my xr200

Hello,

I started riding today and when I got up to higher rpms to shift to second it just lost power, it will run in 1st just fine at slow speeds but you cant get to second gear because it doesn't keep the rpms up. Any input would be greatly appreciated thanks

I'd check and clean the Carby first. Possible leaning out. Could be an air leak also. Not sure with 4T tuning to be honest but if it were a 2T I'd be more confident in my reply, you did say "Any advice" lol.

It can only be one of three things. Electrical, Mechanical or fuel/air related. Just use the process of elimination to find the Issue. My guess would be a fuel/air Issue

When a bike is too rich it will splatter in the top end, when lean it will loose power and pretty much die when you give it WOT

Edited by AddictedToBling

Can you be more specific on the rpm not coming up? Does it still run smooth WOT but just not rev? Does it sputter until you let off the gas?

Can you be more specific on the rpm not coming up? Does it still run smooth WOT but just not rev? Does it sputter until you let off the gas?

it sputters until I let off the gas

What year is your 200?? 

I had that happen once and it was an obstructed air filter.

On a different bike I had a small bit of water plug the main jet.

And debris from old gas in the tank plug jets, but the first to plug are usually those in the low speed circuit.

I also had a bike that mice built a nest in the airbox that almost completely covered the filter.  :banghead:

Pulling the carb takes time and is a PITA so I suggest reviewing when you last serviced some items:

When was the air filter last serviced and type/brand?

How long has the bike sat since the last ride?

How old is the gas?

Stored inside or outside?

Last time a new spark plug was installed? 

Also what year is the bike?

Then check the easy things before pulling the carb; air filter, spark plug, choke position when riding, fresh gas and fuel system flush.