Sign in to follow this  

My "custom" honda elsinore

Hey everyone, 

Someone gave me a parts bike honda elsinore. It needs a lot of work obviously. I was thinking of building a budget bike piece by piece so that I can learn to work on the bike. It's my first bike and I don't even have my permit yet. I am not interested in restoring the bike but building a bike with available parts on a budget. People keep telling me to get a newer bike but I just love the look of the 70's bikes. I was thinking about getting a honda xl250 and using the motor and electronics since they pop up on craigslist for reasonable prices often. I am new to motorcycles so I thought this would be a good place to go through the process step by step and get your opinions on each stage. My goal would be to build a bike that looks the way I want it, learn to work on it, learn to ride, taking out on fireside roads, make it street legal and maybe use it to commute 12 miles on surface streets. What do you guys think?

I have it down to the frame now so first stage is to restore the frame. I don't see any cracks or anything and it appears straight.  What do you recommend for this? 

Motorcycle_1.jpg

I love this bike... I thought something like this but with the honda elsinore/xl250 platform instead of a 650... that will be my next project ;)

DSC_6351.JPG

Edited by Seeker15