Sign in to follow this  

Yz85 as a Trail/Play bike?

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone had used a Yz85 as a trail/play bike? I am a beginner, and have been looking into Yz85's. For the most part I will be riding trails. I am thinking about an Yz85 because I want to do jumps. Is it worth getting an 85 for a trail/play bike? Thanks

All I can say is this:

When I used to ride my 85 for trails it was fun but challenging. It has great acceleration but if your going to have more technical and slow trails then you will need some skill to back it up or there will be some fouled plugs. Id say if your wanting a 2t then go for the 85 but if a 4t isnt out of the question. Look into the crf150r and f. The r will be a jumper and f is for trails/ has an e starter. Hope that helped

All I can say is this:

When I used to ride my 85 for trails it was fun but challenging. It has great acceleration but if your going to have more technical and slow trails then you will need some skill to back it up or there will be some fouled plugs. Id say if your wanting a 2t then go for the 85 but if a 4t isnt out of the question. Look into the crf150r and f. The r will be a jumper and f is for trails/ has an e starter. Hope that helped

Thanks

I had an '01, last year of the YZ80 and for the short time I owned it, I thought it was NOT a beginners or casual trail bike.  The power hit hard and for the beginner, I think they would find themselves in the weeds pretty often wondering "what happened?".  I got the impression it was perfect for junior to start out in MX but not a trail bike.

I had an '01, last year of the YZ80 and for the short time I owned it, I thought it was NOT a beginners or casual trail bike. The power hit hard and for the beginner, I think they would find themselves in the weeds pretty often wondering "what happened?". I got the impression it was perfect for junior to start out in MX but not a trail bike.