Sign in to follow this  

2001 yz problem.... Help!

Hey! I'm new to all this forum stuff and motocross! I bought a 2001 yz 125 a couple days ago! Just had new barrel and top end rebuild! I toke it out to the local track yesterday! Started off all fine! I started gettin more confidant and opened it up! I went from second to 3thrid and it didn't sound like I changed gear but I had. Then went 3rd to 4th and still the same and powerband was just screaming but didn't seen to shift much considering I was giving it the full beans. Below powerband it pulls ok I guess( I'm 15 and half stone) so I'm not exspecting the 125 to be 2 pokey below powerband! Any1 got any suggestions what it could be ? I'd be really glad for the help. Thanks Ben :)

are you sure your shifting? Ive seen people have bent shifters and not realize it, but the shifter would hit the ignition cover and not allow them to bump it up all the way. Just a thought.

I guess I said my first question wrong.. are you sure your bumping the shifter all the way up?

Hey bud! Yea I slowed right down a couple of times and made sure and then I went round again full throttle and really pushed the shifter up and it's still the same. I thought maybe the clutch could be slipping.. But y only in powerband?? Lol I really don't know