Will I be happy with a 250F ?

I currently have a klx400 which is a DRZ 400 incase you're unfamiliar and a 2012 klr 650. I just got started racing and my first gncc was awesome but hard, mainly from picking up my KLX up over and over. I've been riding for 20+ years but I'm new to racing. So I know the most obvious answer to my question is to ride one but I just wondered if you guys thought a 250 F would be enough juice for me to woods race in the GNCC and AWRCS? I'm 5' 8" and bounce around from 175 to 195 lbs ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1380239423.267687.jpg my current bike I use for racing

A 250f should be plenty of juice, a 450f and you can get in trouble real quick, almost too quick, especially if its tight woods. Wouldn't want to whiskey throttle on the 450f and find the nearest tree, you'll be in a helicopter to the nearest hospital.

250fs are great bikes, so are 250 2 strokes!

What about a Ktm 250 exc

I rode a DRZ400E so I can understand the weight issue. However, I had it in supermoto trim and didn't really ever see a trail. I have ridden a 450F, 250F, 125t. If you're more of a 4t guy, then I would stick with a 4t. 2ts are awesome, and you may want to research into one. KTM 200 would be pretty sweet bike. Back to 4t, if you're racing a tight course without a bunch of long straights, a 250f will feel like a feather compared to the 400.  And the handling of a 250f should keep you right up there with guys on the bigger bikes. If you do come up to long straights, you wont stand a chance against 450's, or 250cc+ 2ts. A 250f will top out very quick. (Depending on gear ratio will come into affect here) In the woods with a 250f, you shouldn't have a problem going really fast. BEWARE; Going from the KLX/DRZ to a 250f, maintence will have you pulling out your hair. You can negelct a klx and it will keep on running, a 250f, not so much.