Top End Shot Looking for advice

Hello All.  Long time lurker first time poster.

I've got a 2000 XR650L <8000 miles with a bad top end.  Started making a clicking noise, took to a mechanic and he told me it was good to ride.  Probably a timing chain.  The problem got worse so I took it to another mechanic and the bottom line is my Cylinder Head is shot.  He said it melted where the camshaft rubs on the head.  I'm not a moron mechanically but I've never taken apart the inner workings of an engine.  

The quote I got was $1243 for parts and $375 for labor.  This includes a new camshaft, 4 rockers, a new cylinder head ($704) and gaskets.  That is a total of $1600.  I bought the bike 3 months ago for $2400 so you can imagine my frustration.  I'm supposed to be on a cross country trip on the bike as I type but that didn't happen obviously.

My question is this:  What options do I have and which makes the most sense?  Here is what I came up with.

1:  Pay $1600 and have the shop fix the bike

2:  Try to buy a used head and have the shop fix the bike for a few hundred dollars cheaper (I've found heads for $550ish new and $300 Used)

3:  Buy the parts myself and attempt to fix it on my porch

4:  Sell the bike as is, it will run although clicks like a MFer and buy another one

5:  Try to part it out and buy another one

I found a 2002 for $2300 with 10k miles that looks decent.

Any help would be appreciated, I'll try to upload some pics in case I did a bad job of explaining what is wrong.

Well I won't be telling you to get a mechanic to fix it..Question..How does the second mechanic know that the head is shot..Did he have the head cover off or have the bike in parts in some way to check his belief???..If he took nothing apart his diagnosis is just a semi educated guess.

If you've had the head off a motor mower or the head or gearbox off a car you could do this..It isn't hard,,all just methodical type stuff.