Sign in to follow this  

2007 RM-Z seized up

I am new to the dirtbike wolrd and have been riding for about 2-3 months now on trails, never done any racing. I was riding my bike like normal last weekend when it decided to lock up on me. It didnt make any kinda strange noises or pops or anything like that. It will change gears no problem but the kickstart is stuck and will not go down. When i got home i checked the radiator and there was basically no fluid left. So im figuring everything in the top end got hot and melted together in a sense. (im assuming thats what happened) Was just wondering if anyone else has had this problem and if so what all parts were need to fix this. Would like to know everyones thought on what they think coulve possibly happened. I havent tore into the bike yet but plan to this weekend. Would just like to see what everyones ideas are becuase i know there are people out there who know alot more then i do. Need to know if there is any chance i will get lucky and just have to rebuild the top end and no damage done to the bottom end. Or if its not even the top end and all bottom end. Would just like to get some advice from someone who knows what they are talking about.

Edited by DStacy02

Top end goes first when overheating occurs. If its true overheat from lack of water itll probably be your piston/rings. Thermal expansion. A good thing to read up on. Id get a manual and take it apart. Of course observe your cams and valve. But definitely get that piston out throw itin the trashed and hope to all mighty your cylinders still pretty. It can be salvaged to a point by machining and im willing to bet yoire in that range. If your valve trains decent (measure tolerances)(observe wear) you may get away with a hundred or so at the machine shop. 180 for a piston and 40 for gaskets. And id also spring for a new cam chain. Get as many new parts as you can afford but i say piston and cylinder conditioning.