Sign in to follow this  

Theft prevention

After hearing about a rash of bike and ATV thefts around here and reading posts about stolen bikes I decided to do something to make mine harder to steal.  It's in a locked garage but as we know, home locks are not too hard to break.  I used an expansion bolt in the floor, cable with loops and padlock.  All nuts and bolts welded.  I know I'm gonna hear this tool or that could go right through that but it will slow thieves down.   The average meth head is probably not coming prepared to deal with the cable and lock.  

What do you do?

lock.jpg

Well the only time I lock my bike is if I'm going away for a day or two. Then i have a chain and a big master lock that i lock to a big metal table. Other than that its always kept in a locked garage, plus I have two big German Shepards lose in there....

I just keep them in the garage with the alarms on. I also have hidden trail cams around the house and in the garage.

I forgot to add this guy actually kept my bike from getting stolen. My house got robbed a few years ago and they broke in through a window when we weren't home. They took a bunch of stuff and there was 4 of them, but my 3 bikes and $$$$ in tools in the garage, they couldn't get in there because of the dog....

1380332817617.jpg

• Like 1

I forgot to add this guy actually kept my bike from getting stolen. My house got robbed a few years ago and they broke in through a window when we weren't home. They took a bunch of stuff and there was 4 of them, but my 3 bikes and $$$$ in tools in the garage, they couldn't get in there because of the dog....

A natural theft deterrent .

• Like 1

I generally keep mine locked inside the trailer, I haul with. It's way more difficult to break into, or even steal the trailer...versus breaking into my garage. My neighbors on each side, plus myself, have dogs. Generally, my neighborhood is pretty quiet...but you just never know.