2014 KTM 500EXC - Need more bark (aka: power)

Hi All,

Just purchased a 2014 KTM 500EXC. Love everything about the bike but, I am a vet motocrosser and can't live without the motocross bike bark!  

Any recommendations to open up the 500exc would be greatly appreciated. I've heard an XC-W black box and Exhaust is a good start.

Thanks in advance!

The "black box" as you call it is the same just different maps. You want "motocross" feeling you purchased the wrong bike.

Load the EU map, mechanically advance the timing slightly, pull the stupid screen out of the back of the muffler and call it good.

My 2013 500xcw is easily an equal to my 2011 kx450f, but I've seen others post it was too soft, makes me question poster experience.

... pull the stupid screen out of the back of the muffler and call it good.

I haven't done this to mine yet, but I wonder if something has changed on the 2014 models. 

As near as I can tell, cannot take the screen out of the muffler, without "destroying" something.  It's welded in there.  You can take it out, but you can't put it back in, if you wanted.  Isn't that "screen" required for spark arrestation?

CADman_KS

My 2013 500xcw is easily an equal to my 2011 kx450f, but I've seen others post it was too soft, makes me question poster experience.

The 500s don't rev out nearly as far as a motocrossers....

I haven't done this to mine yet, but I wonder if something has changed on the 2014 models. 

As near as I can tell, cannot take the screen out of the muffler, without "destroying" something.  It's welded in there.  You can take it out, but you can't put it back in, if you wanted.  Isn't that "screen" required for spark arrestation?

CADman_KS

The spark arrestor is inside the exhaust. On the '12 and '13 it unscrewed.

The spark arrestor is inside the exhaust. On the '12 and '13 it unscrewed.

I really need to take that end cap off sometime, and see what's in there for sure.