Sign in to follow this  

New to 2 Strokes (250exc): can you foul a plug easily from riding too slow?

Just trying to figure this out as I'm a newbie to 2 strokes (4 months now)... yet I'm a decent rider (recently won my first hare scramble....vet C class... out of 12 other 2 stroke riders). Anyway, I did some jetting on  my carb recently & the bike was runnin pretty good... yet today in the woods I was cat walking a long, downhill, steep creek bed & was in 1st gear mostly.... not reving it up much but slight revs... finally at the bottom I went to drive away & the bike was feeling boggish... it then died right out w. lots of gas in it. The plug was fouled!! Luckily had a new one. *my buddy who rides a ktm 300 told me that I can idle my bike around the woods all day in 1 st gear & it wont foul a plug.... now is that B.S. or true?? I mean, can I really ride it slow & be ok or do I always have to rev it up high to clear it out?? Im a bit confused. My old bike was an XR 400 & man I never had any engine issues.... at any speeds... this bike seems temperamental..... any help is appreciated.... free coffee to everyone also~

20130809_143005 (1).jpg

Edited by cheetah66

Proper needle selection goes a long way. I have never fouled a plug even in my beginner days where I was never on the pipe and lugged it everywhere. When I first started I read so much about jetting my eyes wanted to bleed. It's payed off though.

Edited by mynewcr250
  • Like 1

Proper needle selection goes a long way. I have never fouled a plug even in my beginner days where I was never on the pipe and lugged it everywhere. When I first started I read so much about jetting my eyes wanted to bleed. It's payed off though.