Sign in to follow this  

Trail bike honda 230 or 250?

Hey I'm new to riding, I work on a farm, my boss has a 100 acre pasture that we built a dirt bike track on where his kids ride. I've started riding around the pasture with his sons KXL 140 and I just ride it to learn. I want a bike of my own, and I want a taller bike that isn't to fast for me cause I'm a beginner, so I wanna mess around on it but also go around the track sometimes. I'm 17, 5' 10" and about 155lbs. What bike should I get?

Have you narrowed it down to a Honda 230 or what type of 250? What are you looking to spend? I'd say a 125 2 stroke or a motocross 250f would be great for fields and track. The 230's are good tight steep trail bikes, and I love my xr250 for the trails. I find my self wanting something else for the open stuff, fields, open trails. 230s and an xr 250 wouldn't be ideal for track use I wouldn't think.

Well the pasture is all hilly and rough, I want a honda cause part are plentiful around here, I feel like a 125 would be to small tho, I'm looking to spend like $1,500. Would the 250 be to powerful for me or would I jut have to get used to it!

Well the pasture is all hilly and rough, I want a honda cause part are plentiful around here, I feel like a 125 would be to small tho, I'm looking to spend like $1,500. Would the 250 be to powerful for me or would I jut have to get used to it!

he meant a 125 2 stroke. Get one. It will b perfect

Don't get a 250f if your budget is $1,500... Too much to go wrong and expensive to fix. I am the identical size as you, (5'10" 150lbs) and a 125 2 stroke will be perfect, and they are cheap to work on. I currently ride a yz125 and couldn't be happier. Go with a cr125 or a yz125, I promise you won't be disappointed.