First Oil Change=First Problem

Long story short, I was doing the first oil and filter change on 2014 500 EXC and the top screw for the filter housing will not tighten!!!  Has anyone else had this happen and is it possible to repair?

Easily fixed but this is the first I've heard of this. See if the dealer will take care of it for you. If not an M5 Helicoil will work.

Did threads pull out with the bolt? Is the bolt the proper length (16mm)?

I was puting the filter cover back on and the top bolt just never tightened down.  I was being SOOO careful.  Had the manual out, had the torque wrench out, everything by the numbers.  I don't know if I should take it to the dealer or not.  Would it be covered under warranty or would they just put a helicoil in it.  Being a mechanic by trade I'd rather do the helicoil myself.  Very frustrating!!

sure you didn't swap the bolt's position or something simple?  If it didn't even start to tighten, I would think you didn't ever engage any threads.  Take a look down in the hole and tell us what you see...

Key inserts are way better than helicoils.

Long story short, I was doing the first oil and filter change on 2014 500 EXC and the top screw for the filter housing will not tighten!!!  Has anyone else had this happen and is it possible to repair?

Man, that's a bummer!

When I took my oil filter cover bolts off the first time, I was really shocked at how tight they were.  It's only 6Nm when you torque it down, and that's not very much, but mine took a LOT more than that to break it loose the first time...

CADman_KS

messeur out a thread lenght and put a longer bolt this helps sometimes.

Key inserts are way better than helicoils.

Keenserts or Helicoils should be fine in that size and application.

Problem fixed!! I ended up using a helicoil.  I was a little worried because the wall thickness at the bottom of the screw hole is pretty thin, but it worked out just fine.

Time to Ride!!