Sign in to follow this  

What speed do you know you're riding a DS on the street?

I just started riding my DRZ. I've had it up to 60 and the wheels didn't fall off. But, I think I started to realize I wasn't on a street bike at around 45mph.

Is this about right? When do you notice you are on a thumper/dirt bike suspension/dual sport tire?

Ive never been on a street bike,  but each time i ride me DRZ i get in the 90's easily,   feels fine to me,   i pretty much test out top speed everytime theres not a lot of traffic on the freeway or when its a nice flat surface,    to me the bike does great at higher speeds.

i've seen 102  on my speedo, so im assuming that's roughly around 92  actual MPH.

The bike feels fine at that speed, but  the engine is turning very fast.  aside  from the wind against my body, the bike seems perfectly stable at that speed.

my bike is at home at 75 or lower.  i assume i have a bit more  stability at top speed because of my SM tires.  before i got those,  the bike was  definitely more wobbly at +80mph.

Hmm, maybe it is just my inexperience as a rider. Seems over 45 was when I started feeling the bumps in the road more and the engine got to "thumping".

blakestree;;   i ride full dirt bling all the time on the street getting to the dirt. 60mph no issues. the more you ride it, the more comfortable you will get riding a dirt bike on the street. remember it is still a  heavy dirt bike but a dirt bike none the less. :ride:

• Like 2

When it was a bit too high in the rear and therefore unstable: Somewhere around 100km/h (~60mph). When I set the correct sag, increasing its stability in my case: Never. Or yeah, only when swooshing over or around obstacles and nimbly stepping the bike onto curves, leaving the Harleys behind like beached seals.

• Like 1