Sign in to follow this  

Im a ds newbie, need help!

So I am looking at getting a dual sport bike. I am a moderately experienced rider, mostly trails and stuff, no hardcore technical stuff or mx at all. I need help with a bike selection. First I am 5'7" and weigh 160lbs. Probably will be doing a really close 50/50 maybe 40/60 road and trail, and with the road only a small percent of that would be highway. Wouldnt be doing any "serious" stuff. My budget is a hinderence, probably 2500$ max. I have read quite a bit of stuff already, I am pretty sure the 650's are just going to be too big a bike for me. I have heard good stuff about the super sherpa and the klr250. Also in the mix is the Honda 230l, Klx250s, the wr250 and 450?(too big?), the drz's, and even the tw200. For some reason I really am drawn towards the tw200, not sure why, maybe its all those years spent on a yamaha bw hunting. Anyways I know its a really broad question and their are going to be multiple opinions but thats what I am looking for. Thanks

If you're able look for an XR650l(then buy a lowering link).you will have a great machine with a more dirt/offroad oriented suppension. If you can't then go for a DRZ400. They are awesome bikes and have many option's and parts for them. Just my 2 cents.

The good thing about Dualsports is they don't loose to much value. I'd say, find one you like in good condition and buy it. After riding for a while you'll know more what you want. I'll of them are fun. 250 or smaller might be a good start.

DRZ400's and 650(Hondas) are TALL bikes. 

Stay away.

You are on track. 

TTR250 is a pretty capable bike at slower speeds with a shorter seat.  WR really nice, but pretty tall too. 

You mention a small percentage of hwy riding. For any hwy riding at all, a big cc bike is the only answer, and the smallest of those is the dr650 Suzuki, it has a 2 position rear suspension.