Sign in to follow this  

cr250 2t in 09 crf 450 frame?

ok so I've been throwing the idea around of putting a cr 250 smoker in my 09 450 frame. I've been trying to a little research just to figure out what kind of mess im looking at getting into and can only find info about cr 500 af conversions in 450 frames. I am a fabricator/machinist by trade and part time mechanical engineer student so I have no worries about being able to make it work.

So I guess what I would like to know is if anybody has done this with a cr250 to a crf 450 and has tips or thoughts how it will work out? really any help or feedback will be greatly appreciated thanks

people have done it, Its more for doing something cool and looking updated. I find the 02-07 cr250 frame/chassis was far superior to the 09 crf450 handling in every way.

people have done it, Its more for doing something cool and looking updated. I find the 02-07 cr250 frame/chassis was far superior to the 09 crf450 handling in every way.

Owned an 09 & now own a 10 CRF450r model.  The chassis can be improved & is pretty good by getting the suspension balanced & sorted out.  I agree the 02-07 is a better option, but the OP is probably going for a more updated look.  I'd also believe the suspension would have a different affect with the lighter 250 2t motor transplant.

Here's a good example of it here.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/1019526-cr250-afs/?view=findpost&p=10719852&hl=06+motor

just a guess but... stick your 250 motor into the 450 frame with the swing arm bolt in, line the sprocket up with the chain slider then check to see if the swing arm will still fit or need shims or cutting have your frame level and tilt the motor so the Honda logo on the case also is about level then check to see how the pipe lines up -you probably need to make new or relocate mounts.