Sign in to follow this  

Goneballistic's total beginner refresh of a 1987 XR600R

I am a brand new owner of an XR600R project bike from 1987.  we had a Honda CT110 that was a hoot to ride around the neighborhood but it got stolen, so we we're looking for a new bike to run around the neighborhood, take camping and ride the trails around here.

We found an 87 XR600R that the seller described as clicking.  I passed on it but he texted me back and said he was negotiable. I went and talked to him and we started it. The "clicking" sounded like someone poured gravel in the top of the engine. totally horrible.

figuring the bike was a complete loss, I offered him enough for the frame and parts which seemed good, and figured I'd replace the whole motor with something else.

This is the first time I've ever worked on a bike, I'm learning as I go along and will need a lot of help from the experts. I've been reading TT for hours a day since I got it, and it's *fascinating* to me how much you guys know about these.

I picked a 600 becuase I wanted a bike as simple, and as durable as possible.  I need a lot of power, as I'm huge,  6'5" and 330lbs. I was an offensive tackle in the nfl in another lifetime and have stayed offensive tackle size since.  Me on a 600/650 looks like a 250 on most people.  So the size/weight of the bikes don't bother me a bit. They feel like a normal size bike. The high seat height is a huge bonus for me as well. I do need to figure out how to set up the shocks for a fat guy.  I expect I'll need a heavy spring back and maybe in the front forks as well.  I have ridden other 600's and they seemed fine but I want the bike to sit normally with me on it vs sag a lot.