Sign in to follow this  

Steering Stem Bearing Replacement: Tips?

Hi guys,

I have been looking over the steering stem topics from as far back as 2009 and found them to answer 90% of my questions. and also found a nice service topic for them as well. I have just a couple more concerns, which I probably should have asked about earlier to the good folk of TT. Here goes.

I am replacing my bearings with a Pivot Works kit for my 2004 CRF250R. This is my first time for me as I just bought the bike this year and was ironically told the whole front end was just serviced before I got it (turned out to be false), so the steering stem was the only thing I didn't touch.

A couple of my friends said to simply cut the old bearing off instead of taking it to a machine shop to press them out and press the new ones on. They say sometimes the automotive friendly machine shop dudes will actually damage the stem with their press, so they prefer to cut.   Does that sound accurate? I would imagine they would have to apply many tons of pressure to do so.

If I cut them off, would it be safe to then use the old race and hammer the bottom bearing all the way down? Saw other topics speaking of heating the bearing and freezing the stem.

CLIFF NOTES:   Can I cut off my lower bearing and then hammer a new one on?

Thanks in advance! Already missed a nice ride this weekend,  want to fix the bike back up tomorrow and take the day off.

The old bearings should be positioned so you can hammer out with a screwdriver. I'm not God's gift to the wrench, but every steering stem I've seen has been designed that you can slip a flat head in and punch out the old bearings from the recess.

Grease the stem bearings every 25 hrs, you'll rarely have a problem. That's my maintenance schedule.

• Like 1

I just did mine the other day. A flat chisel was used to knock the bearing up off its seat a little, then I used a pickle fork for separating ball joints, and such to knock it off easily

• Like 1