Frame Scratches...How To Fix

I've been reading through the forums for a while and decided to finally join and ask for HELP.

I have had the 250L for about 3 months now and have been beating the CRAP out of it every weekend.  I am new to dirt riding, but rode street for years on a sport bike.

Anyways, I have dropped the bike every which way.  I have crashed the bike into trees, into sand, into the bushes, into the dirt, into rocks, into the water and into other bikes.  The latest drops were on VERY rocky trails.  I had never hit the actual frame before, but this time I did.  I will try to post pictures but my questions are:

-I am assuming the frame is steel, correct me if I'm wrong.

-The frame looks to be powder coated.  Short of powder coating it again, how can I fix the nasty scratch on the frame?  Where can I get the specific paint for the frame?

-Has anyone worked on this kind of frame and done a similar repair and can offer tips/advice?

Yup.

dont drop it!

Yup.

dont drop it!

I think that's impossible, for me at least.

Yes frame is steel--find some touch up paint the same color--hope you invested in a radiator protector--it's kinda hanging out there w/o one--OH and Welcome to the forum too!!

Edited by USMCVietVet

NH146M Accurate Silver Metallic is the paint code for the frame. ColorRite has it for $40 per can-

Just get one of those sharpie super silver permanent markers haha.

21388-9330-1-3ww-l.jpg

I'll bet Wal-Mart has something close for less $$$$$$$$$$ :ride: :ride:

In all seriousness, the sharpie I posted above will probably work. I use it when I take apart Beamers at work to remember exactly where the 30,000 pieces go back together.

Who would spend $40 on a can of touchup silver for a dirt bike???

Hahaha, maybe someone who spends $50 on an anodized screw!

I'll bet Wal-Mart has something close for less $$$$$$$$$$ :ride: :ride: