1997 Honda XR600R questions

Hey y'all I'm brand new to Thumper Talk but have been reading very helpful posts on here for a while now so I decided to join.

I recently bought a 1997 xr600 for $600. It was a steal. The lady who I bought it from was selling all of her husband's old stuff because he had passed. I didn't really care if I bought into a money pit cause I wanted to take on the project.

It ran great when I first got it. I changed the oil and the spark plug. But it didn't need much more than that done right from the start. It recently started smoking pretty bad when I ride it. And the past few times I've ridden it would rev really high then really low over and over again as I was holding the throttle steady and cruising in 3rd gear. If I let off the throttle to downshift, the motor would die. It would start back up fine and idle fine until I started riding again, then it would start revving high and low again. I got tired of messing with it, so I let it sit for a few days. Yesterday I started it up and there was a huge cloud of smoke right off the bat and it continued until I shut the bike off. I'm thinking it's a combination of the carb and maybe the top end needs to be rebuilt. But does anyone know what it could be? Any help or input at all would be very helpful!

Much appreciated,

T

Is it blue smoke or black? Did she say how long the bike sat since he passed and you bought it? If it's blue smoke it could be rust had done some pitting in stuff like the cylinder and it is now allowing oil to pass by. The high and low running sounds fuel related if the motor doesn't sound like it is seizing.

I'd take the carb off first and really clean it, quite likely dried up fuel is blocking passages. Look inside the gas tank and see if there is a bunch of dirt or rust that may be clogging the petcock filters.

Edited by jjktmrider

It had been sitting for 6 months without being started before I bought it.