Brand new to bikes, what should I get?

Hello all, this is my very first post so please be patient.

As the title suggests, I'm pretty new to dirt bikes. Although I do have plenty of experience on quads, just looking to expand into another field.

Anyway, back to the task at hand, I'm 6'3" and 185lbs. I would like a street legal bike but living in Southern California I know that may not be an option so I'm prepared to trailer it if need be. Maintenance is a huge aspect, I'm a full time student, I don't have all weekend to maintain it and go for a ride. So less maintenance the better!

I typically ride fire roads, dunes, tight trails (something the quad barely fits down), most of this is in the mountains, mx is really the only type of riding I don't do, I prefer exploring.

Budget wise, just give me your opinions and I'll get the best I can afford.

Any information is appreciated!

I have no idea how california riding is so i may be way off. but in ohio if i was looking for a trail bike that i could possibly make streetable and was 6'3 i would be looking at a DRZ400

a wr250f or wr450f would be good for trails and u could street legalize it. they are green sticker approved too. a 450 is good for street and wide open trails and dunes and a 250 would be better for tight trials. there would be little maintenance compared to other bikes like yz or crfx and crfr. if u want a bike that is almost completely maintenance free get a crf230f or maybe a ttr250 but they will have alot less power and are smaller and heavier.

If I were u I would go.for the wr 250 or 450 f depending on what is like where u r

I'll second the drz 400 the s model is street legal from the factory. I think a crf230 would be small for your height. The wr250 I've read is good for street and trail and tall.