Don't drive my truck, I ride

OK, I admit, I'm kinda proud of this. Flag gets like 8' of snow a year, seldom gets below 0, and usually gets above freezing during winter. I'm well equipped for winter riding.

I've put on less than 2k on my truck the past 12 months and 15+ k on the bikes, no long trips. The '03 Dakota has only 97k on it.

I'm a trim carpenter, tow my trailer to the jobsite, drop it off, and weather permitting, bike back and forth. Use the bikes whenever possible for business or personal, have adequate luggage.

Anyone else do this? How do you handle it. I drive at least once a month, and if I fire it up, I drive for at least 20 miles, (most jobs are at least 15 miles away). Oil changes, I've been doing every 6 months, but recently decided on every 12 months.

Great truck by the way, reg. cab, 4x4, 4.7, 545, syn. fluids except engine. No issues, even still has original battery. Uses and used zero oil when I was driving more and 5k changes.

Never had a truck with this many years, and this little use, advice or comments?

Thanks, Mike

I'm in building maintenance, and the job sites are scattered around.

I have to carry all my shyt around :( and thus cannot. 

A mate of mine who is a boilermaker rides his 450EXC into work because he either works on mine sites "Fly-in, Fly-out" or in a workshop. All the tools and materials are supplied.

Yea, I do some of that too, have the truck setup with a shell and homemade rollouts for the smaller jobs.

Mike

My truck has more tools than My garage  LOL  4 drawer slide out / roll n lock bed cover with tools and a ladder  under it

a weather guard  tool chest   and drop in lumber rack

and then all the measuring/thermometer/lasers  etc  in the cab

but sometimes I bring the bike with the truck so I can tool around  or stop and ride on the way home

I like the dropping a trailer idea  but in town  the trailer would be gone in the AM   and I hit at least 3 jobs a day