Sign in to follow this  

Project 2006 Yamaha YZ125

Hey folks!

This is my first post and I figured I would start it out with my latest project bike.  I've been riding moto since I was 4 years old and love everything from tight singletrack to perfectly groomed tracks like zaca.

Bought this 2006 yz125 for $1200 needed a bottom end.  

So far I've gotten the following for the next steps;

- Bottom end complete overhaul

- Fresh Top end

- New Pro Tapers (windham bend black oversize)

- White Grips

- Tore the wheels down and got the rims powdercoated white

- polished the hubs

- white spoke wraps

- UFO Restyled OEM colored plastic kit

- Custom RehabMX/RubitMX graphics

Here's the bike as of the day I bought it and today...

p4pb10193767.jpg

p4pb10193766.jpg

I'll keep you posted as I start putting her together and see how she turns out!  Any suggestions on the following would be appreciated.

- Pipes...Scavinni? Stock? DEP?  (don't really want to go with the standard FMF/PC unless its the best for this year yz)

- Seat cover color/type

- Debating port/polish/deck the head vs having a more dependable 91 octane 125.  thoughts?

- Suspension valving?  I weigh 155lbs and run intermediate pace so stock might be perfect?

- Anything else you guys have found as testimony that makes this bike rip let me know!  

FEEL FREE TO POST PICS OF YOUR YZ125 PROJECTS TOO for inspiration haha.

SP

• Like 1

Hi kawi,welcome to TT.Great bike for sure,and at your weight you should have an absolute blast.A few thing's I know that work for (me) is,,,,stock pipe,Boyesen reed's.Please check out Moto-Seat,you can have it made with any color and as many rib's as you like and the quality is top notch.I think all you need to do to the suspension is dial it in for you.

id choose DEP or Scalvini. i heard that DEP has a little fitting issues with the yz.

and do a build thread

+1 on doing a build thread,great first post btw   :thumbsup: