Sign in to follow this  

Dual Sport kit wiring

Hi guys. Newbie here (not to bikes tho), just recently bought an '06 with like, zero use on it, had it up and running and strong as can be (a buddy with a low hours crfx said it was snappier than his and it's got no wear anywhere, even on the bottom). So I'm pretty stoked about that and am happy with the deal.

It's got the Baja Designs kit and while that's real slick, the installer screwed it up a bit and the more I dig into the wiring the more I wonder if it was all his fault. First though, the reason I dug into it was that I lost fire and the logical place to look seemed to be the twisted together splices and other questionable stuff. Mostly on the starter circuit which works and I haven't found a "gotcha" on the fire yet, but it was working great just riding it around the yard and then nada.

So this kit, like I say pretty slick but the PO added that and the key switch (gadget freak but not a good installer) and so this thing has too many ways to shut it off. Key switch, OK I can see that. Kill switch on the new switch housing, again OK. But it makes no sense at all to me to kill the ignition when the headlight switch is turned off. Especially if the starter will still run which it does. So I removed the jumpers to the headlight switch and ran a new pair of wires from those terminals in case I need that switch function in some way for the parking light. Now the light switch won't have anything to do with the ignition. As it should be in my opinion. Turn your lights off and kill your engine? I sort of wonder whose brain child that was, but I guess it was the headlight regs that caused it.

So yeah, about that parking light, more weirdness. Someone cut the leads off right at the plug, and then for the life of me I can't quite see where it was connected to start with. Well it's there, the switch is there, seems like it should work. But now I'm into the question of where the power comes from.