Sign in to follow this  

'04 CRF450R + Rekluse EXP - Starter gear problems?

Hi guys,

Bit of a newbie here - so excuse me if this is something dumb that I just can't figure out.

1. I have a 2004 CRF450R that I have motarded, and am having a local shop do some work to fix the electrics, a bit of routine maint. and a new Rekluse Core EXP 2.0 clutch!!

2. I went to the shop today and they are having trouble with the starter gear. 

The Rekluse clutch basket has a centre with STRANGE GROVES that are not the same as the centre in the OEM. As a result it looks like the starter gear (star shape kinda) can NOT go in?

3. The instructions say to heat up the basket and freeze the starter gear - which is fine, (not yet attempted I believe) but the grooves still look far to different to work?

I will try to post a few pics I took, and I am hoping it is just my noobiness here causing the problem, not the actual parts?

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Cheers,

DB

Here are a few pics to explain my situation:

1. Here is my new Rekluse basket:

tnve.jpg

2. Here is the basket that was in my bike:

qhtv.jpg

3. Here is me attempting to locate the starter gear in the centre of the Rekluse basket.

roc.JPG

4. Here is a demonstration of how different the grooves are on the new basket to my starter gear.

3f2g.jpg

What am I doing wrong here guys?

Thanks again,

DB

Shite.....was afraid of that - I was just banking on the fact I have NFI and am learning here!

I've already sent them an email...will try to get onto them properly soon..

Thanks for the assistance!

I 2nd the "call rekluse" advice. And for future reference, the tech support there is outstanding. If you ever have questions, nothing against asking on a forum, but in about 1/3 the time it took to post that excellent and well thought out post with awesome photos.. :) .. Joe or others there would have had ya sorted out .

Edited by MELK-MAN