Looking for a Street Legal Bulletproof Bike

I want a dual sport that meets some standards, to explain I need to divulge some personal information. Bear with me please.

I hunt, I ride, and I'm from Oregon. In fact, I started riding as a cheap, easy, and fun way to scout for Deer and Elk. It used to be cheap and easy because I had a 2000 KX250 that ran like a raped ape with an Air Filter change once every 5 or 6 rides, and a fresh top end once a year. I sold the bike when I got a job in Alaska, no dirt bike needed to find Game here. Walking out your front door is often the  bare minimum required. Now I'm coming back to the lower 48 and I have a whole new set of wants.

I'm going to be living in Novato CA (still a resident of Oregon.) My goal is to be able to hop on my bike for a weekend, ride 5 hours to Southern Oregon, hang out with the family and/or camp and scout the areas that I will be hunting. I want something that can be ridden as a daily driver without the same level of maintenance that a 4-stroke MX bike requires (oil changes every 5 hours????? a fresh top-end every 15???? how the heck do people keep up with that!) But has enough off road capability to be able to ride some reasonably rugged trails. It needs to be street legal in Oregon, which means that it needs to be manufactured as a "Highway Vehicle." (i.e. I can't throw a light kit on an XR400 and make it street legal.) I cannot emphasize enough, this will be a daily driver and my off time is LIMITED so I would like to keep maintenance needs to a minimum.

The XR650L caught my eye, but I have no personal experience owning one and don't know what kind of maintenance they require. Size isn't to much of an issue, I'm a small guy (5'7" and 165 soaking wet) but a lowering linkage brings it into the relm of controllability. (A KX250 was my first bike. Unless you started on a 500, it's hard to be more ridiculous.)