Sign in to follow this  

New guy with a seized 97 kx 250

Well guys I'm fairly new to dirt bikes and completly new to working on dirt bike engines. I bought a 97 kx 250 from my dads friend for 900. It was well maintained from what he said. I cleaned the air filter and made sure every time that I premixed exactly 32:1 with 91 octane shell gas and Kawasaki 2 stroke race oil. I rode it maybe 10 hours throught 5 days. It ran amazing. I was going down a gravel road in 5th gear when it just died and locked up. The kick starter wouldn't budge and it only rolls in neutral. Me and my friend took the engine out of the bike and started to tear into it. We're at the point now that we need to take the flywheel off and get the cylinder off to split the case. We can't get the flywheel off because we don't have a puller and we cans manage to get the cylinder off either. My friend thinks the piston is stuck to it. I'm thinking of taking it to a local shop to get the flywheel off and see what he I thinks about the cylinder. I'm also curious as to what I should replace. I'm thinking the cylinder needs bored or re-sleeved or some thing, a new piston kit, crank shaft, maybe a clutch kit, all new gaskets, and maybe all new circlips? I know weve screwed a few up already.

Any input on parts I'll need and where to get them or any input at all would be greatly appreciated. Also anybody know why my bike locked up? When we drained the oil it was a milky brown.

Well I got the cylinder and flywheel off. The guy that took the flywheel off said the cylinder needs replated. He also said it was the crankshaft that failed. I found a wisco complete bottom end kit for $261. Anybody have any luck with this? Also what's a good piston to put in it?