Sign in to follow this  

California Looking for easy riding closer to home near east bay

New to the forum.  I'm pretty new to dirt biking and I'm looking for something closer to home that is easy to ride and to test my bike.  I will be leaving out of El Sobrante (Orinda, El cerrito area).   I've been to Carnegie OHV and while it was fun, it was incredibly busy with hundreds of people there.  Not safe for a new rider.  That was a few months ago.  

Other than the OHV parks (Carnegie, Metcalf, Hollister, Frank Raines) is there anything under 2 hours away?   I'd love to find a place where I can just ride fire roads for miles.   Places like Cow Mountain, Ukiah, Middle Creek, even Forest Hill are too far to make a day trip as I will be driving in a big slow truck.  I'll get to them eventually with a dirt bike/camping weekend.

Thanks in advance,

Josh

Metcalf and Hollister would be good for you.....especially Metcalf. Each is mostly directional trails and either isn't too crowded. Usually I never pass other person really once on the trails. Metcalf is pretty small but will still give you a workout for a couple hours.....great day trip.

the only one other then what you mentioned close to El Slob would be Knoxville.  but it is a small place and not too exciting. 

there is some questuionable places like Montera bay, and carriage hills.  not too sure you can ride there anymore. 

you can make one day trips to stonyford, or MC.  i used to do it all the time when i lived in El Slob.  get up around 4:30-5 and motor up.  ride for 4 to 6 hours, then stop and eat then buzz home.  i've done it many, many times. 

https://www.desertusa.com/ohv07/california/knoxville.html