Neck Brace! Umportant or not so much? I'm Confused

Yep, title says it all. I don't know if they are all that important. I don't jump my dirt bike much but I do ride a lot of woops. I flew over my bars but thankfully I was fine and the bike just rolled beside me. What could happen in a crash? Break my neck? Is that what the neck brace protects the most? I intend of buying a real motorbike. Currently I have (I know but hey I'm short on $) a Chinese piece of bowel movement. It's a Xmotos 250 4T. It's extremely heavy and slowww. The suspension is miserable. When I purchase a better bike such as a 2t 250, I will plan to head out to a Mx track. I will be practising to jump etc... I suppose a neck brace would be a must. I am not sure how they attach to my helmet as well if that's how you wear yours. I am a noob at the neck brace safety gear. Do they attach to my armour?

Thanks in the future for any help. :D

Just to update, I misspelled (Important) Pardon on that :S

Edited by KTM_Insanity

it's your decision.  it boils down to whether or not you want to increase the chances you'll go home to your loved ones after riding. 

I crashed in front of some motocrossers who always wear neck braces.. the first thing they said was, "OMG is your neck ok!?!?"  They even repeated it several times because my head touched the ground after wrecking on a natural terrain jump.  I was fine, bike was fine.  But OMG without a neck brace, how could I not have BROKEN MY NECK!?!? 

What I learned from this experience is that the neck braces can be beneficial, but unless you wreck hard and really twist yourself up, they are unnecessary.  I've never crashed and needed one, never messed up my neck.  If you are jumping and riding motocross which I don't do, then I would wear one for sure.