Sign in to follow this  

Intro of my 03 250 SX and rebuild.

Hey guys,

I'm new to the 2-stroke side as I have been riding a YZ400F for the last nine years (explains the screen name ;) ). I absolutely love my 400F but it weighs so much, and is getting pretty old. Although it runs like a champ, I'm always "taking it easy" on the track, in the fear of having it blow up on me.  I had been looking for something lighter/better maintenance for a while now.  I scoured craigslist for a YZ250 but people were pretty unrealistic about their prices. Maybe that is due to the market of the midwest.

Anyways, I ran across a craigslist titled   "2003 Kawasaki KTM 250.   For sale is my 2003 Kawasaki KTM that is in excellent shape, it runs great and fast! New tires ready to ride!"   Kawasaki KTM? That's a good one.  So I started thinking about it and thought that it could be a toss up as the guy, who obviously knows nothing about the bike, could have trashed it/not taken care of it, or selling for a friend or something.  Turns out to be a combo of both.  The guy was selling it for a friend.  In the pics the bike looked really nice and clean.  When we got there last night, it was more beat up then I thought, and I was disappointed, but it wasn't trashed either.  Overall is was clean, but you could see that the owner wasn't a bike guy cause there were a lot of little things here and there that showed he didn't care about it that much. The pipe was dirty, the pipe lower mount was poorly welded on the frame (repair), the silencer was pretty dented in, missing bolts here and there, broken levers, dirty filter, etc...

Bringing her home....

IMG_2668_zps83b7a199.jpg

I ended up getting it for $1350, which, is an alright deal I guess.  I started taking it apart this evening and found quite a few things that will make this 1350 climb to 1600 quickly.  The frame is in good shape though, and most of the issues are small stuff (for now).  So far I have found: