Sign in to follow this  

SHOWA 47 HS ISSUE

I just returned from a long ride today about 100 km (70 miles) and wanna report the main issue on these showa mounted on a beta 300 2t.

Love them on technical low speed route sections with stones roots etc but still have some harsh on high speed rocks...that's the setting and would like to understand from where to start experimenting: mid or base and also how stiffening one how effects the other.

Base

28x10

30x10 (5)

28x10

26x10

24x10

22x10

20x10

18x10

16x10

14x10

12x10

16x30 (4)

Mid

20x10

17x10

14x10

12x10

WASHER

10X10 (2)

11X10 (2)

FLOAT 0.35

CIAO

is too soft max and your fork work lower in stroke , you dont have damping for absorb big hit!!

also preload on main spring , little preload give you that problem.

if you ride soft spring , little preload and soft valving your fork are so harsh on high speed hit 

I'm no expert when it comes to suspension but have revalved my Showa's for Tech Enduro, still a work in progress but never seen the need to run a base and mid valve stack as soft as yours.

Did you do the revalve yourself or did a shop do it for you?

Are you sure none of the 30.1 LS comp shims are stuck together, you count 5 x 30.1 where most Showa woods stacks I have seen are between 8 and 12?

I have tried bleed (28.1) on top of the LS Comp 30.1's before but did not like the way the forks felt, to mushy.

Your mid valve stack is wacky looking too with the single 20.1, tapered stacks down from the 17.1 do work to soften things up but you seem to be missing quit a few shim here.

Would explain the high speed harshness as you basically have very little mid valve damping, add to that the soft LS Comp stack and your basically blowing through stroke the minute your going faster than walking pace.

The 0.35 float can work if you had slightly more damping in your LS comp but the Showa mid valve does not work well with to much float.