01 yz426f help please

Okay so first off let me say I am pretty new to dirt bikes and have very minimal knowledge of them so any help would be greatly appreciated. I just bought a yz426 and I know it runs because the guy started it first kick and it sounded/ran great. But after getting it home I have spent hours kicking on her and absolutely nothing but a small sputter like she is thinking about going. Somebody please help

They are a bitch to start. With that being said, I am sure it is just like my 01, requiring "the drill". Find TDC, pull compression release lever and let kick start go down an inch, go back to top of stroke, kick HARD and follow through on stroke. Do not give it gas while doing so.

What year is it?

Here's how it's done:

http://www.yamaha-motor.com/sport/4stroke_vid/4_stroke_vid_a.mpg

http://www.yamaha-motor.com/sport/4stroke_vid/4_stroke_vid_b.mpg

The most important mechanical considerations are a healthy, fresh spark plug (preferably an HGK CR8EIK iridium) and a correctly adjusted idle circuit.  Don't just start it to see it run and then shut it off, either.  Start it and ride it for at least 5 minutes so the plug won't be partailly fouled for the next time.

Yup, thats "the drill"

Yeah I am hoping I just don't know what I am doing and it not the bike. It is a 2001

Its frustrating at first. Once you have it mastered then its a piece of cake....until you flood it,lol. The previous owner who was able to start it first kick prolly had a hard time when he first got it too. Leverage is your friend. I am not a tall guy, so I have to find a rock or something to stand on to give it a good kick. When I have it on the stand in the garage, its a snap since I can stand upright on the bike and give it a good kick

DUH! I dont know why I asked what year your bike was. Clearly states in the title. :bonk:

Choke on, 2 twists of the throttle, then the kicking ritual stated above.