Newbie wanting to learn, can I get some guidance?

Hello all! I recently purchased an 07 DRZ400SM. I lurked for a while and did some research and I really like the bike!

The bike I bought seems a little ragged out. It was dangerously low on oil(Which was pretty old/used.....maybe 1 quart came out when I drained it. Yes I got both the frame drain and the engine drain. I also noticed a drain below the oil filter, that's pretty neat). I am fine with this, because I want to make this my project! I want to go over the whole bike and refresh anything that needs it. As well as some performance-related mods while I've got everything disassembled. I've got the time and money to throw at the bike. But I will need guidance, as I am new to motorcycles! (This is my first bike. And the 2nd bike I've ever ridden) The bike has about 16,000 miles on it. 

The bike actually works just fine. I've ridden it back and fourth to work a couple of times. It's just really, really noisy. There's all kinds of little rattles and whatnot. It starts and accelerates fine. (as best I can tell, I have no other DRZ400s to compare it to) Brakes work fine and it shifts smoothly enough.