Sign in to follow this  

Washington Semi - O/T - Anyone commute from Monroe?

I still want to move to Spokane but if I land a good enough job on this side of the mountains, I may stick around.  If I do I'd probably move to Monroe as new(er) housing is much more affordable.  I perish to think what the commute to Seattle would be.  I imagine Redmond/Bellevue would be okay if I leave at 6:30 but Seattle might be tough.

If anyone commutes from Monroe to either Seattle/Eastside please chime in.

So to keep it a little on-topic.  Living in Monroe makes Wenatchee/Entiat/Mad River quite a bit closer for summertime riding.

NC

I've been commuting from Monroe to Redmond for the last 16 years, it can take anywhere from 40 min on an average day to 2 hours during snow and flood seasons. I carpool with my wife and drop her of at Microsoft then I head in to Bellevue we leave our house around 8 and I get to Bellevue by 9. There are 3-4 main routes to get to Redmond so you have options if on route is backed up. But to be honest it get a little worse each year. :(

Steve

I moved to snohomish from spokane and in spokane hardly anyone makes long commutes. I work in everett and it takes me 30-40 minutes each way and that is almost to far for me. What kind of work do you do.

Nevermind I missed the number cruncher name sorry.

Thanks for the replies.  

I am a CPA but not a tax/audit accountant.  My experience is as a controller/VP of finance.  I sold my old, small house in Kirkland to move to something bigger/newer/nicer.  Monroe/Snohomish/Lake Stevens are about it on the west side of the mountains cost wise.  Spokane I can live about anywhere but of course the job market isn't as good.  Even when I lived in Kirkland I had to commute on 405 so I figure the commute just sucks everywhere on this side of the state.  So as long as I have to deal with the drive in the morning, I figured I might as well live in a nicer home in a smaller town environment.  I really like Monroe.