Sign in to follow this  

Bike shakes on straight aways?

Ok guys I am new to TT so take it easy on me. I have a 06 crf450r. Minimal mods.

In my last couple rides I have noticed that my bike shakes pretty badly when I get it going on straight areas (where I have the best chance of noticing) I have changed my swing arm bearings and greeced the linkage and wheel bearings. Rims are good also. How can I tell if my triple clamps are bent (might sound like a dumb question but I am seriously) also is there any chance it's a fuel issue. I have a full fmf exhaust power bomb header and factory 4.1 slip on with not jet work. And have never cleaned my fuel filter.

Help please. No need for rude responses. This is my second crf450 and I love this bike. But admittedly don't know as much as most of you guys on here.

You IDIOT!

Sorry, you set you self up.....

Your description is way too vague.

What exactly shakes, when, and how.

You could have an internal problem with the counter balancer, a loose flywheel, mud inside one of your rims....you just have to get more specific.

Your front wheel bearings out? When the bikes in the stand can you shake the front tire and find any play?

Edited by Diggla117

Lol yah I did krannie but I'll take that. Least u were kidding. I see a lot of guys getting eatin up on here and it makes it tough to wanna post anything.

Any how I've had the front wheel off to check the bearings. Also before that I checked for play in the wheel and it all seemed good. I had a crash prior to this and I bent my bars and twisted the wheel out of alignment. I did my best to straighten the forks back up and replaced the bars. As close as I can see. Everything seems straight. Is there a chance I bent the steering stem in the trees.

I know this post is vague. But it hard to explain the wobble I'm getting. Not a side to side. More like back and forth if that makes any sense

I'll give her another hard go over and get back on this.

Thanks so far