Sign in to follow this  

will 1 tight valve cause ticking?

when I checked my valve clearences 1 of the intake clearences is tight & I have noticed the engine is ticking more now than it used too so is this likely to be the cause of the ticking? All the other 3 valves are within spec & the ticking is there from cold & doesn't get worse when hot. Also Ive never changed or had the shims out before so don't know what size is in any of them so is the only way to know what size I need to get is by taking it out & will it havre the size on it or will i have to use a micrometer to measure it? & what size less would you recomend me getting to make the clearence within spec? I mean is it likely to be next size down that i need or could it be a few sizes differnce? sorry if i sound a bit clueless here but tbh I am coz I've never done it before

Thanks 

PS its only done 3000 miles since i last checked them & they were all well within spec then if that matters or helps with answers

The best way to get the right size shim is to pull it out and measure it. That will give you the exact size. After you know your shim size, add your current clearance to that number, then subtract the tolerance ( you can either aim for the middle of the spec, or shim it to the larger side of the tolerance which will make it so you won't have to adjust your valves as much.) That is the shim size you will need. That way you don't have to buy several different sized shims and play a guessing game. Hot Cams sells an excellent shim kit which makes maintenance that much easier.

The tapping could be from the tight valve, your autodecomp if you still have that, or now you're noticing it because you know a valve is tight.

Hope this helps and didn't confuse you more.

• Like 1

what are you calling tight? but no tight valves generally dont tick, they are usually silent for lack of excessive gap like loose valves.