Hi. I am new to the world of dirt bikes and need some help, I am currently riding a crf150f and it is way to slow. I cant even go riding with my friends. I am leaning towards a ktm 125 or 150 2 stroke or a 250 4 stroke don't care what make. i ride mostly on trails, dirt roads and sand pits i want to be able to keep up with my friend that have kx250f's. I am 14, 5'7'' and 160lbs. What do you think is the best for my needs?

Edited by DIRTRIDER444

If you riding trails, then skip the 125 2t and go straight to a 150, 200, maybe even 250. Getting a trail/enduro oriented bike is nice too. Having a kickstand is great!

Btw, where in Ontario are you?

I'm near Huntsville

125 2 stroke is a great handling bike with decent power. Very light too. But you're coming from a 150 air cooled trail bike. I'd say work your way up to a 250f or 250 2 stroke. A 125 is a perfect place to start. And in some cases will beat your buddies 250f's. I've been in the moto world for about a decade now and have to say Race bikes are way better than air cooled trail bikes. But a four stroke will have a way better powerband. It has better delivery throughout the whole rev range. A 2 stroke is no competition in the bottom end power dept. a 2t is just raw power. But the Low cost maintenance makes the 2 stroke the winner in my book. And they sound badass! Hope that helped. Any questions just ask!

would you recommend a trail of race 125? 

Oh I read that wrong. I'd recommend a race 125 because a race model will usually have more power. And you can always fiddle with the suspension to give you ample control in both trail and MX type riding. Not to mention they look better. But if all you do is trail ride and you never do any MX riding at all is go with a trail style bike. Only because it has lights and is toned down a little more

I also ride quite a bit in sand pits would the mx bike have much more power in the deep sand?