Sign in to follow this  

99 KX 250 top end cutting out

I would like to start off my telling everyone I'm new to thumper talk and dirt bike riding as far as that's concerned.  I've been reading around the forums now for a couple weeks and the info I've found so far has been awesome!  Please be patient with me as I try to explain my issues, thanks.  I recently bought a 99 kx 250.  The bike was is great shape when I bought it considering it was 14 years old.  The only thing I've changed so far is the 13t front sprocket to a 12t front in order to make it easier for me to ride.  After reading in this forum I would eventually like to swap the 99 tranny for the 98 tranny.  Sorry, back on subject.  I found after riding a few weekends that the throttle cable was in really bad shape so I replaced it.  While I was doing that I replaced the air cleaner with a freshly oiled twin air filter.  I then went out this morning to go ride and noticed the bike did not want to rev from 1/4 to full throttle.  I immediately stopped the bike to figure out what was going on.  After looking at it for a bit I decided to change the spark plug and put the original air cleaner back in.  It took a while to clean up but the bike eventually started to run better, but not back to normal.  I am looking for advice on what could be going on for sure.  Is there a common issue with it running weird after oiling an air filter?  The new spark plug didn't seem to change anything.  I'm worried that its leaned out for some reason and I don't want to burn up the engine.  Any advice or help with this would be much appreciated, and hello to everyone in thumper talk!

Was the old air filter dry? A oiled filter will make the engine run richer. You need to verify the jetting in the carb.....and the A/F screw setting. Put you new oiled filter back in and ride it..when it seems to be cutting out reach down and pull the choke knob up..if it  helps then it is lean..If it loads up worse then it is running rich.