Sign in to follow this  

Best non full size motard

So, right beside the mx track I go to is a go kart/supermoto track. I'd like something just to mess around on, and don't know what to look for. I'd like it to be not a full size bike. I've seen some crf150, and ttr125, but the crf is kinda expensive($2000+) in my area, and I've ridden my friends ttr125, and it was lacking in power. So, I was wondering if u can have a 2 stroke motard. I know it's probably a stupid question, but I'm new to motards. Also, how does a ttr125 w/ big bore do? Or the klx140? Do they have more power?

well it all depends on what you decide is best.  XR100 is very popular and most tracks have a stock xr100 class.  Common thing to do is get an xr80(16") front wheel and put it on the 100.  that way you have the same diameter rims front and rear. then run scooter tires. 

If you want the fastest, i have seen some really fast small bikes out on the track, but you end up spending a lot of money.  if you want the fastest 'mini' out of the box it will be the crf150r. 

Yes you can have a 2t on the track.  Lots of guys run 80s and even smaller bikes.

is there a reason you dont want a full size?

The reason I don't want a full size bike is $ and easy transportation. I'm not going to be racing, just going to the open practice.

you are kidding yourself if you think a mini wont cost you as much money:)  All the fast ones have tons of money dumped in them.  You can find a full size SM for 2k if you look around.  I bought my 03 xr100 for $1400.  Might have been more than other xr100s but it had 8hrs on the motor and not a pinch of dirt anywhere on the thing.  You can pick up xr100s for $750 in decent shape and throw a 16" front rim and tires on.  Budget at least $1000 for a track ready stock xr100.

Really? Will maintanence cost more on a full on motard? Also, if not, what would be a good beginner bike for someone who's 5'6 and 150 lbs?