Sign in to follow this  

How to determine Valve Shim replacement if current gap is .000

Hello all, I have a 2002 Honda CRF450R that I am trying to adjust the valves on. This is my first time adjusting a bucket valve system and need some advice.

When I measure the gap on both of the Intake valves the smallest feeler gauge I have .003 will not fit. If I am unable to determine what the current gap is how do I figure out the new shim size. I am guessing the gap is between .002 and .000. I have done alot of reading but unable to figure out how to figure it out if there is a zero gap. I want to do this myself instead of taking to a shop to save the money I don't have.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Your valves are pulling into the head you can check compression first and leak down test to see if there's actually a leak but chances are you will need new valves and seats

You will have to assume it has zero clearance and then put the estimated shim size in. After putting in the proper shim measure the clearance again and adjust accordanly. For example if the existing shim is a 190 and recommended clearance is .20 you would put in a 170 shim. Unfortunatley if you have zero clearance on the intakes the valves are most likley wore out and will require replacement and the seats will have to be recut.  

Hi Supr Sloguy.....your suggestion will work but I was hoping to avoid taking it apart and putting it back together just to take it back apart again and put it back together again! :( Sounds like that might be my only choice if I want to go the cheap way.

Hi sj186......Where do I find the values for the compression values and leak down? I have looked through the manual but haven't seen anything in the specs. How do I know what is within spec for compression or leak down?

If you are qoing to reshim the engine anyway, the cam chain and cam, or cams will have to be removed in any case.