Will i be able to tell if my YZ125 is running lean?

Hi everyone!

Two questions from me, excuse me if im blabbering in between the questions.

I am new to dirtbikes, I have only ridden an XR125L before, which is in no way similar to the YZ i just bought. My twostroke experience is limited to an old honda moped, which was restricted to death aswell.

The YZ125 I bought is a -99, a new piston has been put in, bearings and all that checked, however, as I am the worrying kind I need to know that it's not running lean, which according to the forums means certain death in a near future.

It runs great, had to adjust the idle mixture screw by about half a turn(inwards, richer) to get the throttle snappy, but let's imagine a scenario where it runs a tad lean, not enough to really notice, especially for me who doesn't have any previous experience from 125's at all. Would this be enough to seize the engine in a near future? 

If i roll slowly in 2nd gear, say 5-6 mph, and go WOT, it bogs completely until i lighten the throttle a little bit, if i roll on a little more careful and get some revs on the engine before WOT it pulls like a beast. From what I've read im getting mixed signals, some say its completely normal, and in other threads people are screaming lean. We're talking from a little bit above idle  to wot, in gear. Is it normal for it to bog in that case?

This might be stupid questions, but i just wanted some direction before starting to mess with jets, possibly for no reason. :rolleyes:

Thanks beforehand, Axel

Do a plug chop at the rpm you think it's lean.

If it's lean, it drops in power and bogs.

If it's rich it drops in power and surges/blubbers/pulses.

A 125's power band will not start at idle, period.

You have to roll the throttle till you get to the start of the powerband rpms, then you can go wot.

A 125's power band will not start at idle, period.

You have to roll the throttle till you get to the start of the powerband rpms, then you can go wot.