Sign in to follow this  

Proper gear and speed for jumping

Depends on the size of the jump.... Maybe I'm wrong but for me I've always went by feel , starting on small jumps and making my way up !

• Like 3

Just start small, i'm new to mx also and been practicing for about 2 months.  Now I have no problem doing most jumps, actually turns scare me more I need to work on them.  It's not a one answer you can use cause it depends on size of jumps and position, etc.

If you are riding a track where others are riding and doing the jumps you want to conquer, try waiting for one of them to come around and pace them off the jump. .. I've raced for 20+ years and still do this on bigger jumps on tracks I've never been to

Find  (or MAKE) a single that is big enough so you dont endo (short jumps are harder to not endo on...because the front wheel comes off the face while the rear is still loading).  36-42" tall (vertically) and about 20 degrees slope is good.  FLAT landing.  Just hit that thing 500 times.  You should get to the point you can jump 30-34 feet (the average distance of a small or rythm double) with your eyes closed.  You should also be able to hammer that thing hard (sitting most likely) and get out to 65'+...to the point you could clear a rythm section triple.  This is good practice...because it will teach you to land flat and case properly...which will SAVE YOUR ASS later on.   

I am a firm believer in taking a small jump you are comfy on...and learnng to hit it harder and harder and harder.  This will take you to the point that you are actually hitting that face HARD.  Learning to hit a 6' tall...30 degree face HARD is not easy if you have never hit ANY jump face HARD.  It is also a good way to get hurt.  Find a small jump...and take it big...  It is a lot safer than taking a big jump small before you have the skills. 

Edited by Blutarsky