CRF-150...or...TTR-125L(Pros&Cons)

im a beginner. and i have been looking at TTR's cause they say it is a good starter bike. but i have also heard that i will outgrow it fast. i dont want to keep buyin new bikes all the time. i want the best bike for the money and the best bike for stability and less maintenance. and i have ridden dirt bikes since i was a kid. im not new at it but dont know where to go from here. and i want your opinion on the "BETTER" bike. i will be riding tracks and terrain. Basically im looking for a bike to get started on and be able to do alot with ...like i said jumps,track,speed...etc. so give me your opinions please. this will also be in the (Yamaha TTR) section to see what answers i get.

Mainly looking for:

Torque / speed / 4-stroke / stable / overall strong.

!..ThankYou..!

StEpHeN

Stephen,

Tell us a little more about you. How old, tall, heavy is a good start. If you are still growing the CRF150 will fit you longer than a TTR. The suspension is generally better on the CRF, and with the full cradle frame I would say the CRF is stronger stock. The TTR is much lighter and with a few well thought additions can go toe to toe with the CRF. (The BBR skidplate comes to mind for frame strength) I just remembered that Yamaha improved the TTRs for '04 by adding external preload adjusters to the forks and a compression rebound adjuster to the shock, so you get more adjustability with a TTR.

Having worked on both a couple of new CRFs and a buddies two TTRs, my experience is they are about the same as far as maintenance goes. Keep the oil fresh and the air filter clean and you have solved 90% of your problems.

Good Luck! :)

SIZE INFO...

120 lbs

5ft8

still growin a lil