02 crf450r suspension.

Hey guys. I'm looking for some info on what you guys think I should do about the suspension on my 2002 crf450r. I'm 5'9" and weigh 195lbs. I am a novice/junior rider. When I got the bike, although I found it to have really good suspension, it seems to be a little soft. MXA magazine suggested that going to .49's in the forks and 5.6 shock spring would be all I need to do to make the suspension stiffer. After looking up the Race Tech website and talking to a local suspension shop, both of them said that I would be better using the stock springs and revalving the suspension. I thought that I would like to try and revalve the suspension myself with a Race Tech gold valve kit for the forks and shock. The kit suggests changing the midvalve for a checkvalve, but after reading the comments on this site, it sounds to me like this is not a good idea. My first thought was to just change the compression valving to race tech specs without installing the check valve. Will this make the settings softer or harder? Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

if it is a little soft there are cheaper fixes than valving if you are casin your stuff eveywhere than maybe at your weight and ability you should be able to work that out with the stock stuff i will see my susp. guy tomm. 1-7 see if i can get some exacts for you