What Tools?

Howdy all,

I'm a noob to the whole dirtbike scene and I'm really ignorant of 4 strokes, BUT, I have the service manual for my new KX250F and I want to be prepared to do some of the maintenance. Beyond the basic wrenches and screwdrivers, and such what specialized tools do I need?

Should I get a set of torque wrenches? That manual says everything should be torqued to spec so I want to do it right. I don't plan on rebuilding the top end by myself just yet but I am a "mechanically inclined" dood so as I ride more and gain experience I'd like to grow the wrenching skills as well.

And where do you guys dump your old oil after an oil change?

Thanks for your help.

here in California you can take your old oil to most auto parts stores and they have to take it off you hands... i think it a law or somnething. Its easy, just buy a little plastic oil pan with a big lid on it made for this purpose at your local auto parts store. Drain ur oil into the pan, cover with the lid and take it to the poarts store, they drain it and give u back ur pan

Thanks for the info bigbob, I'll try the loco Autozone to see what's up.

*I would recommend a set of T-handle wrenches. Not because they do something that can't be done with your other wrenches, but because they can certainly speed up the maintenance process. More time riding, less time wrenching.

*Fork seal drivers would be high on the list. Most forks services require no more than changing the oil seals, dust seals, bushings, and oil. I keep a few sets of seals and bushings on hand all the time. This is fantastic when I blow and oil seal on Saturday and want to ride on Sunday.