Sign in to follow this  

Newbee!

I am a proud owner of a 13' CRF 450R. I bought this bike for casual of road riding from a dealership brand new. I am a complete newbie when it comes to dirt bikes and am searching for some guidance with setting my bike up for the riding style I described above. I am a novice rider with a passion to have my bike dialed in optimally for my weight class of 260lbs. So far I have followed some of the maintenance schedule and I am at 33hrs on the bike. I broke it in according to manual, changed fluids and air filter regularly, and it had the valves shimmed by the dealer at 28hrs. I have replaced the chain and front and rear sprockets, with DID components. I purchased these parts from Motosort.com and did not chinse out on cost for these very important parts. I have also changed my plastic, new grips, and hand guards. I am at stand still with what it should and shouldn’t do next. I am reaching out to the riding community for some insight and direction. I would like to replace and maintain every portion of this bike that will give me problems if I don’t. Please keep in mind I don’t have a bike shop or a dealership that it can just go to close by.

Suspension!!! That should be first thing you do. You’re going to need to re-spring for your weight for sure. Find a local suspension guy in your area and they can help you re-valve and re-spring both forks and shock. It will run you about $600-$800, but it's the well worth it.

Suspension!!! That should be first thing you do. You’re going to need to re-spring for your weight for sure. Find a local suspension guy in your area and they can help you re-valve and re-spring both forks and shock. It will run you about $600-$800, but it's the well worth it.

This is the very first mod I would make. When you get your suspension dialed in for your weight, riding discipline, and skill level, you will enjoy riding more.