Replacement carb for 1997 yz250 suggestions please...

Currently doing a full rebuild of my yz and the carb is border lining junk. Stripped threads, broken screw, worn out slide, missing vent hoses and I'm suspicious of the choke not working (super hard to start cold, but when warmed up is one kick). Just a basket case of a carb, and a basically new bike shouldn't be running a crappy carb IMO. (PO did all of the damage, a machinist such as myself wouldn't abuse threads and bolts like that)

What should I be looking for in a new one? I'm new to engine work and not familiar with the different brands.

The rest of the bike is stock minus the Fatty pipe, Boyesen rad valve and a UNI air filter. Gonna have the top end rebuilt (keeping it as a 250) and I'm doing the transmission and bottom end myself with help from an experienced friend and a manual. Aftermarket suggestions would be great, but I'm mainly only gonna be riding woods, so maybe a different year stocker would be ideal? From my research, the Mikuni was regarded as not the best stock carb.

With my current research, I have concluded that Smart Carb is out of my price range. I could spend $250 on a carb and be comfortable with the wallet impact. Maybe a bit more if there is something obviously superior for a casual rider. I'm not gonna be racing, ever, and have no plans for track riding. Purely trails and maaaaaaaybe sand in the distant future.

Thanks for reading, and sorry for the novel! Looking forward to your suggestions:)

I have the Mikuni vm38ss on my wr250, and I hate it. I am planning on doing a carb swap myself.

From everything I've read, the keihin pwk38as is the carb to have (short of lectron/smartcarb). The keihin pwk38 is a pretty standard carb on 250's and the as stands for airstriker. For about $200 you can get a brand new one.

Edited by 97wr250

I have the Mikuni vm38ss on my wr250, and I hate it. I am planning on doing a carb swap myself.